If you’ve recently moved from New York to New Jersey or you’re about to, one of the things you need to take care of is your identification. New Jersey state law requires that you transfer your out-of-state license and any vehicle registrations within 60 days of your move. If your current license is set to expire before then, you must transfer it before the expiration date.
Transferring your New York state license to New Jersey is a pretty easy process, but it does take some time. Therefore, you’ll want to get started on this process as soon as you can so that you don’t run the risk of missing the deadline and facing penalties. Below are the steps you can follow to change your New York license to a New Jersey license.
Transferring Your Out-of-State License if You’re at Least 21
If you are over the age of 21 and you have a current, valid driver’s license in good standing, here is how to transfer your out-of-state license:
Gather the Required Materials
First, you need to gather a few things that are necessary for transferring your license. You need proper legal documents to pass what is known as the 6 Points of ID requirements. Different points are awarded for different types of verification. For example, a birth certificate is worth 4 points while a health insurance card is worth 1 point. Assemble enough verification documents until you have at least 6 points worth of identification. This online tool from the state of New Jersey can help you select which documents to bring.
Schedule an Appointment at the DMV
Next, you will need an appointment at a Department of Motor Vehicles center or vehicle license center near you. There are locations all over New Jersey, so hopefully you won’t have to travel too far to find yours. Find your nearest center and schedule an appointment for a license transfer. You can also try showing up at the license center without an appointment but you may end up waiting longer.
Obtain a Transfer Permit
Once at the license center, you will need to purchase a transfer permit. A transfer permit typically costs about $10. This is a fee that is required to transfer from an out-of-state license to one from New Jersey. You can typically pay with cash, credit card, or check.
Turn in Your Old New York License
Once you complete all the paperwork and pay any associated fees, you will then turn in your New York state license. You are not allowed to keep your New York license, since you are now a resident of New Jersey.
Receive Your New New Jersey License
The last step is to receive your new New Jersey license. This typically involves taking a new driver’s license photo. Please keep in mind that for license photos, they need to capture your full face. If you have a medical or religious need to wear a head covering, it is a good idea to discuss this with the staff at the camera station so that they can make appropriate accommodations.
Transferring Your Out-of-State License if You’re Under 21
If you are under the age of 21, the process for obtaining a New Jersey license is a little different. You will need to complete the mandatory Graduated Driver License (GDL) program before obtaining a license. This program awards driving privileges gradually to first-time drivers and those under the age of 21.
The first step of this process is to obtain a driver’s permit. This involves completing several hours of hands-on driver’s education along with a written knowledge test. After having your permit for a certain amount of time (depending on your age) and completing a road test, you will then graduate to a probationary license. The last step is to obtain a basic driver’s license. For more specific information on the steps to follow for your situation, you should contact your local DMV and ask a staff member to walk you through the process.
Transferring Your Vehicle
If you are the owner of a vehicle, you must also transfer the vehicle title and registration within 60 days. To do this, you will need to visit the DMV with proof of identification, the original title, and insurance information. They will then help you complete the proper applications and issue some standard transfer or registration fees to complete the process.
If you financed or leased your car, you will need to go through an additional step. This includes visiting the DMV and completing an application to release the title. Then, the holder of the lien or leasing company will send the title to the DMV a short time later and you can return to complete the process.
Penalties for Failing to Transfer Your License
If you don’t transfer your license within the 60-day window, you could face some penalties. Once this window passes, you are considered an unlicensed driver. If you are caught driving while an unlicensed driver you can face up to 60 days in jail along with up to $500 in fines. Therefore, it is in your best interest to transfer your New York license as soon as you can after you move. You never know what might come up during the process, so waiting until the last minute could become costly.
Get Started on Your New York State to New Jersey License Transfer
For most people, transferring their license from New York to New Jersey is a fairly simple process. We know it’s not typically fun to deal with the hassles of the DMV, but it’s much better to get this done than to miss the deadline and potentially have to pay large fines or spend time in jail. Hopefully, the guide above was able to make the steps clear for you and you’ll be able to transfer over your license with no trouble. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us and we’ll do our best to assist you.